My First Book Published – the Whole One Copy of It :)

28 Jan

My dear friend was expecting a baby and I wanted to give her something special as a gift.

A book! A personalized book, drawn and painted by me! A boardbook – so that the baby won’t be a threat to it 🙂

I found a firm that can print one copy of a boardbook, and the work began.

Plot? About my friend, the mom, of course!

Length? The firm offered 10-page books only, no less, no more.

Storyline? Easy-peasy. My friend is quite extraordinary, so there were enough interesting (for a child) facts about her to fill even a longer book.

Language? Their son will be bilingual (English and Russian) – so the book is in both languages.

And here’s the result, 6″x6″ (all painted on my wacom tablet)

12 Responses to “My First Book Published – the Whole One Copy of It :)”

  1. Artist in LA LA Land January 29, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Oh my! It’s so lovely! Congrats!

  2. Alias M. January 29, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    Very charming. A real gift from the heart.

  3. 1st-time mom January 30, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Wow! You are so talented! How have you been hiding this talent for so long?!!

    • Tanya Littleberry January 30, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

      thank you – well, I haven’t been doing much drawing or painting for a long while…

  4. queeniescards February 14, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    This is so great! What a lovely idea 🙂
    Which company did you use? Would you recommend them?

    • Tanya Littleberry February 15, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      Yes – I would recommend them! They were fairly quick and thorough with answering my questions and they even sent me a link to their blog where there was a 10% off posted at the time (and I had no idea). Their website: mycustomstory.com

      I have to warn, though – board books are quite expensive.

      • queeniescards February 17, 2013 at 9:35 am #

        Thanks for the link! I’ll keep this in mind if I come up with an idea for a story. And yea, it’s pretty pricey… this is a once per year kinda splurge, lol.

      • queeniescards May 4, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

        So, I totally should’ve went with my instinct and ordered from this company rather than going to Staples to get 2 books laminated and binded which ended up costing me $64 anyway!!! 😦 This will teach me not to do things so last minute for my daughter’s birthday!

      • Tanya Littleberry May 4, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

        Haha, don’t worry… we just bought Timothy’s bday present a week ago – and he’s almost 15 months! You can make up for it next time… as she grows up, she will be able to read normal paper books, much cheaper 🙂

        but please share the photos of your book!

      • queeniescards May 5, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

        I’m annoyed with myself because I procrastinated for so long. Her second book will be board-book-worthy. I will definitely take some photos and post it after her birthday next Sunday! 🙂 How has the past year flown by but when I was pregnant time seemed to stand still!!!

Leave a Reply

