Stealing like an artist

2 Feb

There is a book called Stealing Like an Artist. I haven’t read it yet – I am on the waiting list to get it from the library – but the name is suggestive enough… well, not stealing – but learning from others! I borrowed a library book with absolutely incredible illustrations and decided to copy them – to figure out the technique and to learn a thing or two.

The book is by Shaun Tan called “Tales from Suburbia”. His illustrations are very imaginative and rich – so much going on there! If I could only draw like this, I thought… and then I thought – well, I can try and learn!

So here’s the outcome (and I am fairly happy with how it looks and with what I’ve learned):

DSC04425

I haven’t finished this one – there were colours, and a lot more going on in the sky – but I feel like I’ve learned enough here 🙂

DSC04426

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

