An Aggravating Attempt at Seamless Patterns

4 Feb

I’ve always enjoyed doodling – especially all kinds of patterns. So I decided to try creating patterns and went on a mission of figuring out how those are done (the seamless ones).

After a very frustrating day, I am only beginning to figure things out as I go.

Photoshop has functions that make seamlessness somewhat easy. But the lack of scalability of what you draw – this being a raster image – means too much time invested. Isn’t this guy insane? Well, told ya: I love doodling.

Now, what I’ve learned working on it: create more variously shaped doodle parts that I can copy-paste, rotate and build from. I did this, but my doodles were too weirdly shaped and couldn’t be copy-pasted a lot (didn’t fit), so there was a lot of hand-drawing… Meditative, though ๐Ÿ™‚

Then I attempted the same task in Illustrator – took me quite some time to figure out how the seamless part works. I did it – and afterwards discovered there is a smoother, simpler way. Will try it out next time (I saved the tutorial link).

And my pattern is not square but rectangular. Oh well. I am learning and this is my second-ever pattern!

2 Responses to “An Aggravating Attempt at Seamless Patterns”

  1. queeniescards February 14, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    That would look great incorporated into a nursery!

    • Tanya Littleberry February 15, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Actually, I think Timothy’s nursery inspired this pattern to begin with ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

