Illustration Inspiration: Il Sung Na

20 Feb

I have to confess: when I am in a children’s book section, I choose books as much for my son as for myself. I love beautiful children’s book illustrations – they are so inspiring!

Here’s one of the gems I recently bought: “A Book of Sleep” by Il Sung Na.

His website doesn’t provide much information about his illustration technique, unfortunately – but there is so much going on there!

Rich background: texture, brushstrokes, colour.

???????????????????????????????

Fun flower patterns/textures peeking through animal hides:

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Little things added (I presume) digitally:

???????????????????????????????  ???????????????????????????????

 

 

???????????????????????????????

Absolutely stunning. I keep leafing through the pages of this boardbook – I think I’ll try to recreate his technique one of this days – for learning purposes!

2 Responses to “Illustration Inspiration: Il Sung Na”

  1. Artist in LA LA Land February 22, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

    What a beautiful book. Yes, I love kids’ books too. His technique is so interesting. I bet it’s a combination of a lot of things including some digital to get all that wonderful texture.

    • Tanya Littleberry February 23, 2013 at 10:09 am #

      I even suspect some collaging there… the lines between background textures and animals/trees are too clean!

Leave a Reply

