French B&B

26 Feb

A few years back I was working loooooooooong hours in consulting. What was even harder – they were unpredictable hours. I couldn’t say “hey, on Tuesdays I leave at 5 pm to take a class but the rest of the days I can stay until midnight”. No. I never knew my hours – not even for the day, let alone week, month, quarter.

But at one point I managed to enroll myself into a painting class. It was a community centre, where most of the “students” were semi-retired housewives. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it immensely.

There was no structure; the classes were ongoing – so the teacher simply moved around the classroom all class long (3 hours), giving an advice here, a demonstration there.

We drew from photos.

My main goal was to learn mixing – and using colours.

I’d say I got a bit more familiar with mixing colours. This is my favourite canvas that I produced back in 2008:

I used my friend’s photo from her big trip through France (she went there for her sister’s wedding… and they stayed in this charming B&B).

What I still am not able to do – is colouring from imagination. While I can easily produce an illustration of something in my head (creatures, people, spaces) – I have no idea how to colour them. In a way that makes the illustration look nice, that is.

So that’s my next goal – figuring out colour.

Any advice?..

2 Responses to “French B&B”

  1. Artist in LA LA Land March 1, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Yeah, color is complicated. I think a lot of learning art is just doing it and after a while, you figure out what you like and what works best for you. Keep at it and you’ll figure it out! This is a lovely painting. The colors really pop!

    Here are a few thing I’ve learned about color. Don’t know if they’ll help you, but maybe, they’ll give you some ideas:

    1-cool colors recede and warm colors come forth
    2-colors change depending on what you put next to them
    3-if trying to create volume or a 3D illusion with color, remember #1 because the part of the objects that are further from the light source will be cooler colors and the objects closest to the light source will be warmer colors
    4-color is all about light
    5-the more contrast you have in color or light, the more accentuated and eye-catching it is to the viewer; like black and white being the highest contrasts. This helps you choose colors so you know what parts of your composition you’d like to emphasize and vise versa.
    6-bright colors are much more appealing to children
    7-duller more tinted colors are more appealing to adults and seem to communicate sophistication and elegance
    8-complimentary opposites of color (orange & blue; red & green, yellow & purple) make each other seem more bright and really pop! They are also the colors we use for holidays. Halloween uses black usually though instead of blue.

    Anyway, thanks for visiting my blog. I’m having fun visiting yours too! Keep it up!

    • Tanya Littleberry March 2, 2013 at 11:44 am #

      Thank you so much for such a thorough response! Very helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

