Imaginary Animals

6 Mar

I recently read about a book called “Painting and Drawing Imaginary Animals” – in fact, I read about it in to unrelated blogs (in two different languages, even different continents :)) and it peaked my interest. I checked it out of my library – and I fell in love with it.

I was sick the whole week last week, so I read but didn’t do any of the suggest exercises, didn’t try any of the techniques. But now that I am feeling better – I am giving it a try and really, thoroughly enjoying myself!

First exercises are based on looking around, capturing shapes (in sidewalk cracks, fallen leaves, dirt, peeling paint, etc.) and finding creatures in those. And then painting and drawing into those shapes, turning them into creatures on paper.

Here are my creatures so far.

These were found in wood patterns in my furniture:

And the following two were found in sidewalk cracks:

I am also enjoying these doodles as a way to overcome my fear of colour. Some of these were done, with colour pencils, some with water colours, some with watercolour pencils. For some I used ink pens, for others – dip pen.

Here’s the sidewalk cracks that gave life to most of the creatures above:

???????????????????????????????

Not too shabby, eh? (and I am not referring to the sidewalk’s quality here :))

2 Responses to “Imaginary Animals”

  1. Nadezhda Konovalova March 8, 2013 at 1:52 am #

    Great! You can make cool illustrations to a children book with these! Every figure has its character.

Leave a Reply

