Art Goal for 2014?

25 Jan

I enrolled into Carla Sonheim’s online 10-month course “Year of the Fairy Tale” which has started this past Monday. As I was browsing for some ideas and inspirations, I got sucked into the vortex of so many illustration styles that really appealed to me, that by the end of the hour or so (when I honestly got overwhelmed… but saved tons into my pinterest), I thought that I might have my art resolution for 2014: finding my own style.

Look at this, for example: simplistic geometric shapes, patterns, only two colours… gorgeous!

Or this intricate design:

I like this simplistic style, too:

I know I could never become so abstract… I love my details… but isn’t this crazy amazing:

I definitely want to try something in this style:

And all of a sudden I wanna draw again in this graphic style, with lots of patterns, details, and fine lines. I used to draw like this in my teens. but have abandoned this approach since then. All of a sudden, looking at these illustrations, I wanna try it again!

So there you go. I announce 2014 the year of finding my own style/voice (after successfully rediscovering my creativity in 2013).

10 Responses to “Art Goal for 2014?”

  1. carlasonheim January 25, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Awesome, Tanya! I love the illustrations you chose and agree that getting lost in all the wonderful illustration styles can be both wonderful invigorating and inspiring, and also a bit overwhelming. 😀

    • Tanya Littleberry January 26, 2014 at 12:19 pm #

      I am planning to use some of the techniques (well, try them) in my art journal!

  2. perlhuhn52 January 26, 2014 at 7:52 am #

    Just found your blog on Carla´s Fairy Tales and looked around a bit. I´m very impressed by your drawings and your paintings. I´m happy for you, that you have found a way to regain your talents again. It´s worth to follow your was. Good luck.
    Doris Perlhuhn

    • Tanya Littleberry January 26, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

      Thank you Doris – it is definitely so worth it! Drawing is meditative. It clears your mind of everything, it’s just you and what you draw. So relaxing!

  3. Mirian January 26, 2014 at 10:11 am #

    Good to kmow we have same problem… Love your post, Thank You!

  4. dianesalter January 26, 2014 at 5:21 pm #

    You Have Inspired Me! I love these, and think I need to challenge myself More! Yayy! A kindred spirit. 🙂

    • Tanya Littleberry January 26, 2014 at 7:58 pm #

      yay for inspiration! Looking forward to you overcoming the challenges!

  5. Amy Cush February 3, 2014 at 7:24 am #

    Hi there! I looked you up from the Carla class. I really love your drawings and wanted to see what else you were up to. I notice you have some illustrations posted here from other artists, but you don’t say who they are. I really want to know who did that one with the big fish kite and then the one with the long skinny guy under the umbrella. If you have a minute can you let me know?
    I love your story and love that you are taking your art more seriously and folllowing your dream.
    I also am a mama and a person who got lost along the way. I am trying to find a way back into art . I mean, I have been doing it always, but never taking it seriously enough to get better and find a real place for myself. And now….I am 41 and I really don’t want to go through the rest of my life without really giving this part of myself a chance to BE.
    I love the work you are doing!

    • Tanya Littleberry February 3, 2014 at 10:55 pm #

      Hi Amy – thank you for your comment!
      Unfortunately, I don’t know the artists, these are repins for pinterest…

      I am a bit younger, I have a toddler and my baby #2 is to arrive in 4 weeks! I hope I will be able to stick with this class, I am really enjoying it so far… and we’ll see where it takes me. I would love for illustration to become my side income!

      Good luck to both of us 🙂

Leave a Reply

