Draw-erase technique

25 Feb

This week on Carla Sonheim’s online course we’re draw-erasing animals: blocking shapes with pencil on tracing paper, then spreading the colour with eraser – and erasing/lightning certain spots.

I am no fan of pencil as a medium. I find it too light, uncertain, messy/dirty. I like pens. Dark, bold, decisive.

But I truly enjoyed this task! Especially when it comes to defining fur.

First, I did a tortoise. And while I enjoyed the task, I found my eraser too thick. I wanted more delicate designs.

Tortoise – sketch/study

So today I went and bought a 2.3 mm mechanical eraser. It made all the difference!!!

 

swan (sketch/study)

cat (sketch/study)

 

One Response to “Draw-erase technique”

  1. Sue February 27, 2014 at 8:02 am #

    yours turned out really well! i like them all … but especially, the cat! I haven’t done this assignment yet. looks like fun!

Leave a Reply

