Yupo paper experiments

15 Mar

For the online course I’m taking, we’re experimenting with yupo paper and water colours this month. Yupo is a synthetic, plasticky sort of paper that allows you to pretty much wipe off whatever you painted, allowing for looser, wilder experiments like wiping, stenciling, etc. And you can push the paint around endlessly, it never gets absorbed into paper.

We’re illustrating a French fairy tale this month – “Blondine, Bonne Biche and Beau Minon” (I hope I spelled it right) – but the focus is on experimenting and pushing your own limits, not on the actual illustration composition and such. Here are my first four trials.

A swan, surrounded by magical fairy-tale flora:

I started off by painting the swan and then decided to add the background colours, and then added the plants in pencil and micron pen. I pushed the paint around, erased it in certain places with a q-tip (like the flowers on the top left) and wiped the paint off around the swan’s head to make it pop a bit more.

Beau Minon, brooding:

The cat was waaaay too fluffy at first, so I erased it (but the marker lines remained… markers don’t wipe off quite as easily as watercolours and micron pens). Then I added the background and the grass.

Blondine, following the evil parrot in pursuit of the Rose.

At first, they were on white background which I disliked but didn’t know what to do. So I covered the background with paint blobs, “found” flowers in them and drew them with pencil – and then darkened the in-between with pencil. I also used stencils for the deer’s white spots and for Blondine’s flowers on her dress.

Blondine riding on the Tortoise:

I really wanted to use my magical flowers here. The tortoise just “appeared” in the colour blobs (hence it has 3 legs :))

I coloured Blondine with a marker.

One Response to “Yupo paper experiments”

  1. Sue March 17, 2014 at 9:46 am #

    you have such a wonderful style!! i’ve been enjoying this yupo assignment, haven’t you?

Leave a Reply

