Iceland Watercolour Sketches

19 Oct

I Have been very quiet. For a very long time. For some time, I didn’t paint or draw. Too much was going on. Two small kids is no picnic, I’ll tell you that. And even though they go to bed early, I was too drained. there wasn’t much to share in painted form.

But then I bought a new set of water colours. I only started using watercolours maybe a year ago, and bought tubes of paint. It was too time consuming to mix all the colours for a dot here and a small spot there, so I just almost stopped. I until I read an advice: palettes for sketching, tubes for painting. Light bulb!

I had a gift certificate to an art supply store from my birthday, so I went and bought a watercolour set.

And ever since that day, I have been painting almost daily! All of a sudden, I decided to do a travelogue of my trip to Iceland in 2011. So here are the pages from the travelogue!

A typical colourful Icelandic house. They say that fisherman’s villages were all bright and colourful to help fishermen navigate back to their shore from the sea, making it easier to discern where home was.

Reykjavik, the capital of Iceland, is a very hilly city. So picturesque!

President’s villa:

Reykjavik is a sea port city:

Ok, I have NO CLUE how to paint a night city 😦 Any good sources/online demonstrations/etc?

A quaint little cafe in Reykjavik:

That’s what most of Iceland looks like, out of Reykjavik: houses with mountains behind them and field of green grass and ocean in front of them:

Towers and skies of Reykjavik:

Local foods. Jellied fish brains, mashed fish, rotten shark. Yummmm 🙂
Actually everything but the shark was exquisite!

Iceland – is the land of hot springs and geysers:

7 Responses to “Iceland Watercolour Sketches”

  1. Zoe Rose October 20, 2014 at 2:11 am #

    Beautiful! I never got the hang of painting with tubes of paint- even though I have several sets. I recently did a bit of painting and it was so nice to do something I used to love again.

    • Tanya Littleberry October 20, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

      it’s great to clear your head after a crazy day with the little ones, isn’t it? 🙂

      do you paint with watercolours, too?

  2. queeniescards October 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    Gorgeous, as always! Make these into postcards, lady! 🙂

    • Tanya Littleberry October 20, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

      still don’t know how 🙂

      • queeniescards October 21, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

        Scan the images, upload the file to an online print shop like Shutterfly, et voila! Or bring the files to a local printer and get a small batch made 🙂

      • Tanya Littleberry October 21, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

        Well, that’s the simple part – I mean I have no idea what to do with them. I don’t know who would want them and for what purposes? What would be the target audience and where to look for it?

      • queeniescards October 22, 2014 at 10:58 am #

        Ah, you could start with Etsy first, if you don’t already have a shop I can send you a promo link for 40 free listings 🙂 Then a little later you can contact the local shops of the places you visited to see if they’re interested in wholesale. These would make amazing prints, especially for souvenirs!

Leave a Reply

